Tags

, , ,

Good day, gorgeous! How are you doing on this fine day? I’m alright, it’s still freezing outside, Amadora and I both have colds and I’m all jacked up on my favorite caffeinated beverage, TEA!!!

This cup kills me! Need it! Oh, and you can purchase it here...

I know what this implies, but come on! This cup kills me! Need it! Oh, and you can purchase it here

Here’s the back story on my love for tea, as if you care or whatever. Anyway, growing up my mother made iced tea constantly, if there was any type of shortage of tea you could bet your ass that riots would start. Now I don’t know if that was because we were crazed by lack of caffeine or if her tea was just so damn good that we couldn’t possibly live without it. (Don’t judge me for brown nosing, my mom reads this and I need brownie points, HI MOM!)

I’ve always been a fan of tea, whether it be iced, hot, sweetened, with milk, I will never deny a cuppa tea and I’ve never met a cup that I don’t like. As I’ve gotten older and been diagnosed with an array of gastrointestinal complications, I chose to stop drinking coffee and drink tea instead. So during a single day I probably consume about 6 piping hot cups of tea.

Wanna see my set up? Of course you do, here ya go!

Look at that bad boy, so high-tech. Also, I may or may not have purchased it because of the striking resemblence it has to the one used on BBC's Sherlock. DON'T JUDGE ME, damn it! You don't know my life!

Look at that bad boy, so fancy. Also, I may or may not have purchased it because of the striking resemblence it has to the one used on BBC’s Sherlock. DON’T JUDGE ME, damn it! You don’t know my life! Buy this high-tech wizardry here.

Oh and here’s my favorite cup, my mom bought it for me!

Everything that I do involves some sort of sass and sarcasm.

Everything that I do involves some sort of sass and sarcasm.

Alright, on to the tea! My two favorite brands are Harney & Sons and Kusmi. They both sell a large variety of teas and most of their teas come in a variety of packaging like loose leaf or tea bags.


Harney & Sons offers “silken sachet” tea bags that are excellent quality and really pretty to look at, they also work really well for keeping your tea in the sachet. What I mean by that is when a tea bag is made of too loose a material, pieces of tea leaves may wind up in your cup, I don’t mind that happening but some might. Here’s a pic:

On the left is Lingonebrry Green tea, on the right we have Dragon Pearl Jasmine.

On the left is Lingonebrry Green tea, on the right we have Dragon Pearl Jasmine.

My three favorite teas from Harney & Sons are Lingonberry GreenDragon Pearl Jasmine and Tower of London.

Lingonberry Green ($9 for a 20 sachet tin) – is really refreshing and makes an excellent iced tea, it also tastes great as a hot tea. If you’ve never had a lingonberry, it is a type of Scandinavian berry that is often used to make jam. Hello, Swedish meatballs and lingonberry jam, get in my mouth! Yum! I digress, this tea is really refreshing, I steep for only 3 minutes because anything longer than that results in a very bitter cup of tea, most green tea’s can become bitter if over-steeped, it’s a dangerous game we play. It has a lovely green base with a note of these tart berries.

Lingonberry Green- so yum.

Lingonberry Green- so yum.

Dragon Pearl Jasmine ($12 for 20 sachet tin) – is a tea that is really new to me, I ordered it after a friend sent me a sachet in the mail, heeey Rachel, then I immediately fell in love. It’s green tea with flavors of jasmine flowers, and it smells just so damn delightful! Steep for only 2-3 minutes so that it has the best possible flavor with no bitterness.

How pretty are these tins?

How pretty are these tins?

Saving the best Harney & Sons for last, I present, The Tower of London ($10.95 for a 30 sachet tin) – to say that this tea surprised me is an understatement. It’s a black tea with flavors of bergamont and honey, it tastes incredible!

Here's a tagalong tin of Tower of London, drinnnkkk meee.

Here’s a tagalong tin of Tower of London, drinnnkkk meee.

It tastes like liquid caramel cake, it’s so good and it’s made even better with some rock sugar. I drink this tea when I’m craving sweets, and if you add a teaspoon of rock sugar you can end those cravings for around 15 calories. Here’s the rock sugar I use for Tower of London (I usually don’t use sugar but I can make an exception when need be):

Look at those amber jewels of sweetness! This bag comes from Teavana, I ordered it here.

Look at those amber jewels of decadence! This bag comes from Teavana, I ordered it here. Sometimes I eat it by itself, because I’m an adult and that’s what adults do. Caramely, sugary sweetness in a bag.

So those are my favorite Harney & Sons teas, check out their site because they have so many options of tea to choose from. They also run sales quite often, I always wait to order until I find a good promo, I suggest you do the same.


Now let’s get to Kusmi brand, this one’s a little more expensive than Harney and it doesn’t come in a fancy tin but damn, it’s delish! My three favorite teas from Kusmi are Rose Green, BB Detox, and Detox

Hello lovely, I'm going to steep you in a cup of boiling water right now.

Hello lovely, I’m going to steep you in a cup of boiling water right now.

My favorite of all of the Kusmi teas would have to be Rose Green ($14.50 for 20 muslin sachets) – This tea is so incredible, I love rose flavored drinks (think rose lemonade, or rose simple syrup seltzer, etc.) not only does it taste delicious but it smells incredible too. Steep this tea for less than 4 minutes or it becomes horribly bitter, it’s a delicate little flower, take care of her and she will treat you well!

BB Detox and the Detox tea ($16.50 each for 20 muslin sachets) – BB is a combination of green tea, mate and grapefruit; whereas Detox is a combination of green tea, mate, lemon and lemongrass. Both of these teas are very easy to drink, they are each blended to work as a detox for your skin and body. Now I don’t know if they actually live up to these claims but they are delicious. I steep mine for 3 minutes and usually start my day with a cup of one or the other. My favorite thing to use these teas for is as the liquid base for a smoothie.

One thing that I dislike about the Kusmi tea sachets is that the muslin is rather loose and lots of the tea leaves wind up in the bottom of my cup, considering I need to make an order for my beloved Rose tea, I will order loose leaf next time and use my own tea ball for steeping. Here’s a shot of their tea sachets:

Muslin tea sachet from Kusmi.

Muslin tea sachet from Kusmi.


As you can tell, I am a huge fan of tea. I appreciate the health benefits that it provides, the less jittery caffeine boost (compared to coffee) and the fact that it doesn’t rip my stomach to shreds when I drink it (looking at you coffee, you sly son of a bitch). Tea is “the tits” in my opinion especially when compared to other inferior drinks. If you have any questions in regards to tea, anything at all, feel free to ask me in the comments section. Now go buy some Kusmi or Harney tea, and get your drink on!


Oh, you thought I was done? I wanted to include my eye makeup look from yesterday using all Brija Cosmetics shadows, check this shit out:

Inner Corner/Tearduct: Pheonix Tears Lid: Saved By A Sock and Transfiguration Lower Browbone/Crease: Copper Rain Deep Crease: Always the Tone of Surprise Blend: Saved By A Sock

Pat on Adhesive Eye Wax as Primer                    Inner Corner/Tearduct: Pheonix Tears
Lid: Saved By A Sock and Transfiguration
Lower Browbone/Crease: Copper Rain
Deep Crease: Always the Tone of Surprise
Blend: Saved By A Sock

You likey? Or maybe you don’t but that’s not my damn problem. xoxo


Wanna see some behind the scene shots of Sookie (Soookkeeeehhhh) looking majestic and sassy as hell while I was trying to take pictures of tea. She wasn’t having it and I’m pretty sure she was judging me for taking pictures of tea tins:

Majestic as F**K

Majestic as F**K, you’re so damn embarrassing, mother!


Alright, I’m done now. Are you guys bored with me yet? I don’t blame you, but thanks for reading and I adore you all. Stay bad ass and I’ll catch you some other time.

Fare thee well,

Fair Maiden

